Gerry Schlegel captures Hangloose SurfStream Open crown in Sundsvall, Sweden

A host of talented surfers competed at the inaugural Hangloose SurfStream Open held on Feb. 18 at the Himlabadet facility in Sundsvall, Sweden. Gerry Schlegel of Germany, recent champion of the Surf & Style European Standing Wave Championship, took home gold in the men’s open division, beating Sundsvall locals William Åhlund and Sebastian Hansen, as well as pro surfer Todd Holland of Cocoa Beach, Florida, who was surfing for the first time in a standing wave machine. Lauren Holland and Odd Persson won the women’s and junior’s divisions, respectively, putting on a great show for onlookers.

A special thanks to the venue host, Himlabadet, the Swedish Surfing Association, and co-sponsors Hangloose, O’Neill, Surfer’s Paradise, Fahlensurf, and Ljud and Ljus Control Sundsvall – not to mention all of the talented surfers who tore it up!


Open Men 1. Gerry Schlegel, 2. William Åhlund, 3. Sebastian Hansen

Open Women: 1. Lauren McLean Holland, 2. Lina Bergqvist, 3. Maria Edqvist

Juniors: 1. Odd Persson, 2. Joel Åberg, 3. Gustav Kalm

Visit official contest website // View more contest coverage // Hangloose photo gallery

First Swedish Indoor Surf Championship

History was made in Sweden on Feb. 4 when surfers from all over the country gathered at Sundvall’s Himlabadet facility to show off their skills on the SurfStream. The riders pulled out all the stops – cutbacks, floaters, even 360s – and William Åhlund grabbed the victory in the final round. The event was covered by Swedish national television (watch HERE) and made headlines in the largest newspaper in Sweden. Check out the article HERE.

Contest Results:

1. William Åhlund, Himlabadet Sundsvall
2. Marcus Boman, Surfers Paradise
3. John Sandin, Himlabadet Sundsvall
4. John Malmqvist, Sthlm Sub Surfers